WhatsApp will let its users leave groups without notifying other members and control who sees when they’re online as part of a privacy update to the messaging app this month, the company said Tuesday.
“We will continue to create new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” said Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Meta, the company that owns WhatsApp.
When a user leaves a group, a message will now appear at the bottom of the conversation letting other members know who has left. And while users can now turn off the feature that tells others if they’ve read a message, it can’t hide the fact that a user was online and using WhatsApp.
WhatsApp’s more than 2 billion users will also have the ability to prevent people from taking screenshots of “one-time viewing” messages, which are designed to disappear once opened. The screenshot lock tool is currently in testing, WhatsApp noted, and will be rolling out to users soon.
Ami Vora, WhatsApp’s product manager, noted that the platform is focused on building features that allow people to “have more control and privacy over their messages.”
Source: El Diario