The Postedia

The new magistrates of the Constitutional Court take office before the king

The four new magistrates of the Constitutional Court were sworn in or pledged their office this Saturday before King Felipe VI in a ceremony at the Palacio de la Zarzuela, also attended by Government President Pedro Sánchez and the Minister of Justice. Pilar Lopp, Senior Notary.

The four magistrates are former Justice Minister Juan Carlos Campo and professor and former Moncloa senior official Laura Diez, both proposed by the executive; and Judges Cesar Tolo and Maria Luisa Segoviano, elected by the General Council of the Judiciary (CGPJ).

In addition to Sánchez, the ceremony, which took place in the auditorium of the Palacio de la Zarzuela, was attended by the President of the Constitutional Court, Pedro González Trevijano, and the President of the Supreme Court, Rafael Mozo.

Also present in Zarzuela were the President of the Congress, Merixel Battet, and Ander Gill of the Senate.

“I promise to faithfully fulfill the duties assigned to me as a magistrate of the Constitutional Court with loyalty to the King and to protect and defend the Constitution as a fundamental rule of the state,” affirmed the magistrates Campo, Dies and Segoviano, and Tolosa. used the same formula but as an oath

Before the magistrates, the Constitution was open to the Constitutional Court in Article 159 of Title IX.

After taking the oath or promise, each new magistrate received the congratulations of Don Felipe, with whom they were photographed and would later do so with the rest of the audience.

The plenary session of the Constitutional Court this Thursday unanimously confirmed the suitability of the four, which is the last step in their renewal, which will lead to a progressive majority of the Court of Guarantees.

After full approval and this Saturday’s event, the debate will open on who will be the new president of the Constitutional Court.

This evening the King will travel to Brazil with Foreign Minister José Manuel Albare to attend the inauguration of Brazilian President Luis Inacio da Silva.

Source: El Diario





related posts

Post List

Hot News