Yolanda Castano, National Poetry Prize 2023

The Ministry of Culture announced on Wednesday the decision of the jury that will award the National Literature Prize in the category of poetry to Yolanda Castano. The award is worth 30,000 euros. The jury highlights his works the subject “For a powerful poetic proposition, in which each state of matter is expressed in its own tone, with poems of poignant and original metaphysics that refer to both the avant-garde and the origin with extraordinary evocative and sensory power.”

The committee appreciates that the Galician author shows in the title “a work of metaphorical poetry that dialogues with personal and collective memory and, at the same time, direct, radical and feminist. She uncomfortably explores topics such as motherhood, family and customs, and manages to extract reality from the usual nebula to make it concrete in linguistic matters, emphasizing verbal and rhythmic play that questions the existing.

Castaño (Santiago de Compostela, 1977) holds a degree in Spanish Philology from the University of La Coruña, where he also conducted audiovisual research. He always writes in Galician and then translates his texts into Spanish himself. The poet began his literary career in the mid-nineties, when he published individual poems and debut works. Lift your eyelids (nineteen ninety-five). Later he let her go excitement and We live in a cycle of Europhanies (1998). The Selfish Book (2003), The Selfish Book (2006), Depth of Field (2007) and in another language (2014) are other examples of it.

In addition to his poetic activities, Castano worked as an independent cultural manager, creating his own writers’ residence in Galicia. Since 2009, he has directed festivals, poetry translation workshops and a monthly cycle of recitals with Galician and international poets.

Award Jury

The jury included Carmen Iglesias Cano (at the proposal of the Royal Academy of Spain), Ana Romani Blanco (at the proposal of the Royal Galician Academy), José Manuel López Gassen (at the proposal of Euscalzaindia), Victor Obiols Landrick. (at the proposal of the Institute of Catalan Studies / Institut d’Estudis Catalans), Àngel Vicent Calpe Climent (at the proposal of the Valencian Language Academy), José Montero Reguera (at the proposal of the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities). , CRUE), Alicia Aza Campos (at the suggestion of the Collegiate Association of Spanish Writers, ACE), Rosa Romojaro Montero (at the suggestion of the Spanish Literary Association), Cristina de Alzaga Fraguas (at the suggestion of the Federation). Spanish Associations of Journalists, FAPE), Rosa María García Raego (at the suggestion of the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid), Ernesto Pérez Zúñiga (at the suggestion of the Head of the Ministry of Culture and Sports).

The previous year, the national award was given to Malaga-based poet Almería Aurora Luquedan for her work. A finite number of summers (Millenio), who told this media that the award was a “cyclone” for him. After winning last year, Aurora Luque was also part of the jury this year.

This week, on Friday, September 29, the winner of the “Miguel Hernandez” National Young Poetry Award will also be announced.

Source: El Diario





related posts

Post List

Hot News