The Postedia

Patxi Zubizarreta, National Prize for Children’s and Youth Literature 2023

Francisco Javier Zubizarreta Doronsoro (Patxi Zubizarreta) was awarded the 2023 National Prize for Children’s and Youth Literature. It is zero. The jury highlights his work for “an exceptional narrative quality and the evocative power of the story with hypnotic descriptions that reflect the human condition.” Regarding the text, he also appreciates the “mastery” with which it “can stir and stir our conscience, our memory, and our present.”

The recognition awarded by the Ministry of Culture and Sports amounts to 30,000 euros. “With his refined delicacy and elegant writing, he manages to find beauty in the wound and makes literature a gem for young audiences,” adds the committee about the author. Zubizarreta succeeds Rafael Salmeron López, who was honored last year.

Born in Ordicia (Gipuzkoa) in 1964, the last winner studied Basque philology in Vitoria, the city where he has lived ever since. His specialty is children’s and youth literature, but he also wrote and translated literature for adults. his first book, Amecetaco maimspublished in 1991, followed by other titles such as The Boy Who Was a Man: Chance, Goshawk and the Fox, On the Swing, Rice and Ink, Piccolo, 1948 Ko Uda and Run, Kuru, run! (Kori, Koru, Kori!).

Award Jury

The jury was chaired by María José Gálvez Salvador, Director General of Books, Comics and Reading, Ministry of Culture and Sports; And Jesus Gonzalez Gonzalez, Deputy Director General of the Promotion of Books, Reading and Spanish Literature, served as Vice President.

The group of members was composed by Francisco Xavier Cenin Fernández, proposed by the Royal Galician Academy/Real Academia Galega; Amaia Jaureguizar Ormaechea, Royal Academy of the Basque Language / Euskaltzaindia; Caterina Valriu Linas, for the Institute of Catalan Studies/Institut d’Estudis Catalans; Artur Ahuir López, for the Academia Valenciana de la Lengua/Acadèmia Valenciana de la Llengua; Mercedes Pacheco Vázquez, for the Spanish Organization of Books for Children and Adolescents (OEPLI); José Soto Vázquez, for the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE); María del Mar Corral Martínez, for the Federation of Spanish Associations of Journalists (FAPE); Fernando Antonio Lallana Xhosa, for the Spanish Association of Collegiate Writers (ACE); Itziar Adelaida Pascual Ortiz, for the Feminist Research Institute of the Complutense University of Madrid; Leire Bilbao Barruetabeña, by the Ministry of Culture and Sports and Rafael Salmeron López, awarded at the 2022 call.

Source: El Diario





related posts

Post List

Hot News